ROY Rules for 2017

1) Runner of the Year ROY 2017 is a series of 14 races spread out over the calendar year. Points are awarded to each CCRC member for each race completed.

2) CCRC Membership You may join the CCRC at any time during the year. If you join by March 31, you will receive ROY points for any race you did prior to March 31 as well as all future races. If you join after March 31, you will receive points only for races done after March 31.

3) Multiple Distances If there are multiple distances at a particular event ( for example, the Healthcare Classic has a 5 K and a 10 K ), ROY points will be awarded whichever race you choose.

4) Age / Gender Scoring We will again be using the age / gender scoring system to award points in each race. Runners generally get somewhere between 40 and 70 points for each race.

5) Age Determination Your age for the year will be whatever your age is on 12/31/2017. This simplifies the points process by not having to change people’s ages throughout the year. Please make sure the membership chair, Helen Sanders, has your date of birth. Contact Helen at

6) ROY Spreadsheet The ROY “leader board” spreadsheet will be updated on the club’s website as soon as possible after each race.

7) Banquet At the CCRC’s end of the year banquet ( in 2018 ), the top ten point leaders will receive a very nice award. Each award winner must satisfy the volunteer requirement ( see item # 8 below ) and compete in at least half of the designated ROY races.

8) Volunteer Requirement Anyone competing for the ROY awards must choose one of the ROY races at which to volunteer. Contact Charles Smitherman at

9) Benefit for Juniors Any junior ( ages 1 – 14 ) who does a minimum of 5 races will receive an award at the annual CCRC banquet.

Endurance Series Rules for 2017

The CCRC is continuing the Endurance Series, first established in 2016.

Any CCRC member who completes 8 or more of the 14 ROY races will be considered to be an endurance athlete and will receive an award at the end-of-the-year banquet. The purpose of the series is to increase CCRC member participation in the area races.

To be eligible for the Endurance Award, you will also have to volunteer at one of the races. This is the same requirement made of ROY competitors. See item # 8 above.

The beauty of the Endurance Series is that your race times don’t matter. You are not competing against the “super fast” runners. All you have to do is volunteer at one event and cross the finish line in 8 of the remaining races. ROY and Endurance Series Race Schedule 2017 Date Race Distance Venu

01) March; Peter’s Free Wheelin’ 5K; Dalton

02) March; Grizzly Trail 5K, 10K; Dalton

03) March; St. Patrick’s Day 2M; Dalton

04) April; RFG Run at the Mill HM, 5K, 10K; Varnell

05) April; Run for John 5K; Dalton

06) May; Healthcare Classic 5K, 10K; Dalton

07) May; RFG JFest 5K, 10K; East Ridge

08) August; Missionary Ridge 5M; Chattanooga

09) October; Black Bear 5K; Chatsworth

10) October; Dalton Red Carpet HM, 5K; Dalton

11) October; Varnell Scorcher 1 M; Varnell

12) November; Forever Family 5K; Tunnel Hill

13) December; Silver Bell Sprint 5K; Dalton

14) December; CCRC 10-Miler 10 M; Varnell